#oldpeopleproblems#dimentia#ojibwaygranny, and Wiisagendam originally published in Kimiwan Zine, issue #4, 2013

 

#oldpeopleproblems#dimentia#ojibwaygranny

“Did you see my canoe, when you came in?”

my grandma asks

–we don’t live near water–

“You haven’t lived on the Sevanne river

in a long time grandma!”

 

“Did you catch any fish today?”

my grandma asks.

“I wasn’t fishing today grandma!

I was at work!”

Fishing and work, are not the same thing.

We are not living on Lac Des Mille Lacs here anymore.

 

My grandma says

she went to visit her father

–this morning–

but

he was still in bed,

so she made coffee!

Fred Peters died

in 1967.

 

 

Wiisagendam*

My eighty-six-year-old-grandmother fell

and broke her wrist, (and pending the results of a Cat-Scan

she might have fractured a heel as well

–she’s got to keep that foot elevated!)

she needed a cane to walk before

which isn’t possible now that her wrist is broken

so she’s in a wheelchair–

and I learned a new Ojibway word today:

Wiisagendam.  It hurts.

 

*It turned out that my grandma’s heel was broken, as well as her wrist.  (and thankfully both injuries have since healed well)

 

 

About nathanadlerblog

I am a writer and an artist. I write stories, poetry, and articles. I draw, paint, make films and videos, and have done some installations. I work as a glass artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

